Charleston County Aviation Authority Board

The Charleston County Aviation Authority (CCAA) owns and operates the Charleston International Airport (CHS), Charleston Executive Airport (JZI) on Johns Island and the Mount Pleasant Regional Airport (LRO). Chartered in 1970 by the State of South Carolina as a special purpose district, it is responsible for managing, operating and developing all public airports in the Charleston County Airport District.  The Aviation Authority coordinates its activities with the Federal Aviation Administration and the South Carolina Aeronautics Commission. 

The Aviation Authority District is governed by a 13-member board. The South Carolina House and Senate delegations representing Charleston County each nominate three members (approved by the governor) and one member is jointly appointed by the Charleston County Council and the Charleston City Council. The mayors of the City of Charleston, City of North Charleston and Town of Mount Pleasant, the chairman of Charleston County Council and the chairman and vice chairman of the Charleston County Legislative Delegation serve as ex-officio board members. The appointed members serve four-year terms.

Meetings of the Aviation Authority Board are held on the second floor of the CHS terminal at either 10 a.m. or 2 p.m. the third Thursday of each month, except June, July and August, when meetings are scheduled on an as-needed basis. Occasionally special meetings are scheduled. Advertisements for all meetings run in the Charleston Post & Courier the day before the meeting.

The 2013-2014 Aviation Authority board members are:
Andrew J. Savage, III, chairman
The Honorable Lawrence E. Richter, Jr., vice chairman

Thomas F. Harnett, secretary

Mallory Factor, assistant secretary
B. Spencer Pryor, treasurer

R.Walter Hundley

Helen Hill
The Honorable Linda Page, Mayor, Town of Mount Pleasant

The Honorable Joseph P. Riley, Jr., Mayor, City of Charleston
The Honorable R. Keith Summey, Mayor, City of North Charleston

The Honorable George E. Campsen, III, vice chairman, Charleston County Legislative Delegation
(Designee: Jenny Sanford)

The Honorable Harry B. Limehouse, III, chairman, Charleston County Legislative Delegation
 (Designee: W. Ellison Thomas, assistant treasurer)

The Honorable Teddie E. Pryor Sr., chairman, Charleston County Council

Site Map | Disclaimer | Police | Employment Opportunities | Contact Us | 5500 International Blvd., Charleston, SC 29418-6911 | | 843-767-7000